top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Tyrie

Wilhelm Sasnal - Artist Review

Updated: Jan 19, 2020


Wilhelm Sasnal is a contemporary artist from Poland, who paints to challenge the way images are represented, having derived short films from mass media. Sasnal's paintings often feature darker undertones and hold a sense of mystery. They are bold and hard hitting, with themes taken from war, propaganda, culture and art history. Stripped down to the essentials, these themes are rebuilt, often in a distorted, out of context manner.

'For me, reality is a jigsaw puzzle that's being put together, but we only see parts, and its permanently changing.'

I am greatly inspired by Sasnal's perspective of the world and the creative way he practices art. I believe it would be largely helpful for me to deconstruct and rebuild my pieces the way he does, allowing for a larger range of compositions and experiments. I also like the high contrast of pieces such as 'Anka in Tokyo' as I have also been looking into experimenting with focus and drawing the eye of the viewer.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page