top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Tyrie

Loribelle Spirovski - Artist Review


Loribelle Spirovski focuses on a combination of realistic human portraiture combined with an abstract techniques to use the minimalist negative space as an active part of the piece. Spirovski will often paint the key features of the face such as the eyes and mouth in high detail, then gesture to the rest of the portrait through colourful brush strokes. Her work is a self exploration of mental health issues, as a sufferer of anxiety. 'My practice is an attempt to externalise internal conflict, creating a juxtaposition of movement and stillness that forms an unsettling effect, evoking a surreal and dreamlike quality.'


Spirovski has been the main inspiration for my work this year. As a painter who has a love for both realistic and abstract painting I am inspired to combine the two. I am also fascinated by portraiture and the features of the face as a gateway to a persons soul. Spirovski has inspired me to explore these themes as well as provoked the idea of using space and composition as a tool to enhance my pieces.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page