top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Tyrie

Theoretical Context - Cubism


In the beginning of the 20th century, Cubism revolutionised painting and sculpture in Europe. Practiced by some of the worlds most renowned artists such as Pablo Picasso, Piet Mondrian and Paul Cezanne, Cubism has influenced abstract techniques for years. Cubism uses geometry and structure in a way that reduces imagery to lines and shapes, initially began to counter the norms of painting in Europe at the time. Unlike impressionism, with its soft, fluid nature, cubism is hard edged and contrasting.


I want to take the principle of cubism into my work this year. I want to have elements of structure and harshness in my pieces, to contrast with the softness of the human features. I believe I can use them both in harmony to add a conflict of interest in my work.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page