top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Tyrie

Chantal Joffe - Artist Review

Updated: Jan 19, 2020


Chantal Joffe is another artist who uses scale and form to interrupt the integrity of the human form. She takes imagery from fashion magazines and uses expressive brush strokes to create large scale paintings, with a loose style and conetmporary approach. Joffe likes to paint women, and fashion models due to their unique, colourful clothing and range of poses. 'I like the narratives that you get in fashion photography'. 'And I like what the clothes do to the body—the patterns and stripes and all of that.' Her work is often described as provoking yet full of personality due to their large size, and gestural style. In a social context, Joffe's work is relatable, taking the stiff airbrushed images of models and turning them into something imperfectly real.


Personally, I am a huge fan of Chantal Joffe's style of painting. Although the composition isn't anything drastic, her pieces are very distinctive and charming. She is successful at shifting the reality of the human figure with subtle changes. I want to try merging my realistic painting style with some looser painting techniques, to give my pieces some of this distinctive manner Joffe manages to achieve. I have also been inspired to play with scale more with this project.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page