top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Tyrie

SPS Crit - Nicole Tyrie


At the beginning of December, I held an exhibition of some of my methodology work in the Shaun Project Space in the Priestman building. The goal of this was to gain some constructive feedback from my peers and improve my work based on this knowledge.






My exhibition included a series of digitally rendered pieces including four edited photos and a series of paintings that I animated to mimic the movements of the elements. I projected these as a slideshow on one of the walls of the SPS. These were successful pieces and gained a good audience reaction. It was suggested that the two projects would look even more effective and intriguing if each element wa projected onto its own walls and thus filling the entire space. This is a concept I was very taken to and in future, if I were to exhibit these pieces I may present them in this way. I also need to make each piece more cohesive as the pictures and animations were cropped differently which wasn't noticeable until presented in a sequence and on a larger scale. This made the pieces look messy and out of sync and was distracting for the audience. By presenting the paintings alongside the animated versions of themselves, it provoked an interesting conversation about how something is presented and the different effect it can have. Animating the pieces made the audience more connected to them, with them commenting that they were 'mesmerising' or 'dreamlike' and even reminding them of surreal artists such as Rene Magritte I liked this feature and the diversity it created amongst too very similar bits of work. I also included three other series of paintings all relating to the elements but each one represented them differently. These were also all created differently so even though the theme was consistent the pieces weren't. The audience seemed more drawn to the portrait pieces and the painting style of the animal pieces. The portrait pieces were another example of how similar images can be presented differently and provoke an alternate reaction. Apart from the obvious feedback that this series needed finishing and a comment about maybe enlarging the scale of them, the overall response was a positive one. This was consistent for the whole exhibition with not much negative feedback and instead, comments to help develop this project.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page