top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Tyrie

Mackie's Corner Reflection

Updated: May 14, 2019


Mackie's Corner 'Merch' T-Shirt show, is an exhibition hosted by Sunderland University Fine Art Stage 2. As part of the exhibition, each student was asked to design and make a T-Shirt to represent their Fine Art in Society practice. Each of us were given a plain white t-shirt to work with. For my T-Shirt I wanted to incorporate the practice I have done with the students of Washington Academy this year. I began by dying my shirt blue, to reflect the colours of the school uniform. I then added a multi-coloured paint handprint on the shoulder. This was to represent the artistic guidance I have given the students of the school, and the contribution they all had to the work we have done. I then got a class of year 10s to doodle on a panel of the fabric. Each of them had complete artistic freedom to draw what they wanted, then I finished it by filling in the gaps and adding the Washington coat of arms to the top. Each Fine Artist have displayed their shirts in Mackie's Corner, on rails and on the walls. Some of them were available to buy and there were also additional tote bags and other merchandise. We all took turns invigilating. I believe the set up was a success and was happy with how both my t-shirt and the exhibition turned out.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page