top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Tyrie

Degree Show - Supporting Work

Updated: Jun 5, 2020

For this project, I wanted to further explore Portraiture, pushing the boundaries of shape, space and colour. This is inspired by Cubism and the figurative works of artists such as Loribelle Spirovski, Dana Schutz and Benjamin Spiers.


To tackle this project, I began by experimenting with how I wanted to portray my ideas. I tried looser brush work, incorporated geometric shapes and blocks of colour and even created a set of lino templates to print. These experiments allowed me to explore possible compositions for further development. This is when I became fascinated with using my ability, as the artist, to mess around with the structure of a figure. I was stuck on trying to make my work 'pretty' when, in actual fact, the more successful pieces were the ones that were less aesthetically pleasing and slightly unsettling.



I continued my work by exploring composition further, by including different viewpoints of the features in the same piece. This was inspired by Pablo Picasso. I went back to quick drawings with pencil and charcoal, so that I could continuously explore different versions of the same concept without having to put a lot of time into each one, like I would have to with painting. These pieces excited me more, as they created more dimension and a sense of perspective within my work.


The sketches were the basis for my final exhibition pieces.


Extra work that I did not select for my exhibition:





Collaborative piece with musician, Sam Greenhow, combining Image, Text and Music. Video includes an edited timelapse of 'Radio'



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page